top of page

4-Point Inspection

4 Point Insurance Inspection

What is a 4-Point Inspection?

A 4-Point Inspection takes a look at the current condition of a residence with a specific focus on the four major systems: HVAC, Roofing, Electrical, and Plumbing.  This type of inspection is a common request of insurance companies who may be considering renewing or deciding eligibility of  a coverage plan.


What does a 4-Point inspection cover?

  • HVAC (Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning): The inspection reveals current age and working conditions of the systems.

  • Roofing: This looks at the roof covering materials, possible defects and deterioration, potential for leaking, age and life expectancy.

  • Electrical: Discusses the type of wiring throughout the house identifying possible deficiencies and shortcomings which could result in costly repairs or potential safety concerns.

  • Plumbing: Evaluates the plumbing systems to determine proper drainage, system components and serviceability, and potential failures or improper practices.



A 4-Point inspection is designed to provide a brief overview of a few selected components of a home.  The inspection is limited to the items mentioned and does not compete with a full home inspection in understanding the full condition of a house.  As mentioned earlier, the primary use of a 4-Point inspection is to meet the requirements of insurance coverage in select states.

bottom of page